What is the point of teaching sign language

I have been showing my daughter the BST videos since she was about 4 months old. I started showing them to her because I thought it will be a great tool for us to communicate before she could talk. That way she will not feel frustrated because she couldn’t talk. They say they usually start signing at about 9 months. My daughter is 9 months old and she is not signing back which is fine since all babies are different. My issue is that all the kids you see in the videos are older, meaning kids that can talk, so I’m not sure about the point of teaching them siging language unless you would like them to really learn it as a language. I like the fact that it reinforces her reading program to certain extent and she loves the DVD’s, they are very cute.

When my daughter was about 6 months old, we thought she was signing milk and we were sooo excited. Later we figured out she was just playing with her hands :frowning: Once in a while I sign milk and she reacts, but it is the same reaction when I show her her bottle :confused:

I would like to hear from other parents their reasons to teach their kids sign language and they results.

Hi Joha,
I started teaching my daughter SL when she was a lot older that your daughter with the BST and ST dvds. I did it because we couldn’t understand what she was trying to say. She is kind of a late talker and doesn’t like to repeat. However, she would repeat a sign for me if I ask her. Ex. Please, want, more, cracker. Of course, if she really wants something from me.

Her first sign was bird and she did it when we were strolling. Milk is a sign that she does it with the dvd, she won’t really ask too much for milk. Sign language has giving her more vocabulary and a way to express her self. Sometimes she only signs, signs and says the word or just says the word.