Other methods for mental math?

What are the other ways to achieve high speed mental math? I know of Soroban. Are there any other methods? What are the pros and cons of each method? Somehow I feel that Soroban is highly mechanized and it doesn’t foster love for numbers. Am I wrong?

Has someone researched on this topic. If so, can you share your findings.

I have a book “The Great Mental Calculators”… perhaps you were the one that suggested it. I haven’t read it yet, it’s next on my list.

Before my first post on BK, I went and started to look for kids that were successful in math. That was what I sought out. What I found was that the feats that blew my mind the most were performed by children trained in soroban and anzan. I have little experience with either and am trained traditionally in math - I was fairly good at it and never really struggled (I think much of the revamping of mathematics in US schools has come because people never did “get it” and did struggle with basic math).

I feel like I can somewhat grasp the nebulous concept of mental math. I read a Scott Flansburg book back in the 90s, but never applied his ideas… just always felt as though math should be able to be done mentally.

I could be wrong, but your sentiment sounds a bit harsh on soroban (just based on what I’ve seen and the limited amount I’ve experienced for myself). I do think your concerns are legitimate though.

Posting here to subscribe to the thread and will give a little book report when I finish (which might be a month from now). I can say that the current book I’m reading, “Bounce” features a whole section on the mental calculators, and his tentative conclusion was that they loved numbers and spent a lot of time thinking about them and studying them. He then draws a comparison with experienced check out clerks that had to process change via mental calculation over years of time, and in calculating change, the clerks were as good or faster than the mental calculator whizzes.