My 17-month DD reads never-before taught word!

A few weeks before, my baby read “MOMO”, the brand-name of our car’s steering wheel. I thought that was just a coincidence because it looks like “mama” which she knows from sight-reading. Just a moment ago, Cammie read the brand-name of her Daddy’s sunglasses. She said “Dickies”! clearly. I asked Daddy if he taught her the word but he is just surprised as I am! How wonderful, she is indeed reading phonetically. She does know all the letter sounds so I guess she must have decoded how to use them! :slight_smile:

Excellent- Well done to your child! and at 17 months to0, thats great news. My daughter is :slight_smile: 16 months and is not yet speaking, i’ve been teaching her how to read since she was 6 months old. i’ve tried to ‘test’ her a couple of times before, but no luck. Reading things like this is inspirational…reminds me to hang in there and let her take her sweet time.
congratulations again. :slight_smile:

More proof that children can pick up phonetics rules intuitively! Thanks for sharing!

That is so exciting! Congratulations.

WOW Thats amazing!!! Thanks for sharing!

You must be so excited!

Thank you all for the encouragement! We owe this site and you guys big-time for the invaluable input and inspiration. We’re happy to give some inspiration back, especially to those who are just starting to teach their baby and those who needed a little motivation to persist teaching.

Sophisty, don’t worry if your child isn’t speaking yet, she is just taking her time and is absorbing everything for now. You’ll be pleasantly surprised soon! How does she communicate her needs? Is she studying sign-language? Others may tell you it may hinder speech but it’s not true! My DD isn’t vocal until a few months ago but when she finally spoke, she has tons more vocabulary and is even more expressive than those I knew who spoke early. So hang in there and just enjoy every stage of your baby’s development.