You guys make me feel I'm under-educating my kid. Seriously. :)

You guys make me feel I’m under-educating my kid. Seriously. :slight_smile: Wow. I can see how committed you are to your kids. I’m a newbie to this early learning thing—I didn’t really know until very recently. Kerileanne referred me to this forum.

I have a few questions for you:

1. How much do you guys spend per month per kid? I mean, look at these whiz-bang learning kits, subscription, toys, gadgets, and whatchamacallits. They all require money, right? Browsing through this forum leaves an impression to me that you guys spend an awful lot of money (or get an insane amount of deals). What sum of money are we looking at here?

2. What is your approach for buying kits/gadgets to your kids? Do you buy “all” the “recommended” ones and see which one “sticks” with your kids? Or do you pick and choose? If you pick and choose, what criteria do you use?

3. Recognizing that there are a lot of overlap in the kits out there, it’s hard for me to justify buying too many. I just don’t want waste. In that case, I’m wondering if you guys could give me recommendation as to what might be suitable programs / kits?

Kerileanne is the sweetest and awesome. Welcome to Brillkids. It depends on what you are trying to accomplish and whats most important to you to give to your child. I don’t think there is really a wrong answer although most everyone will agree that at least math and reading should definitely be on your list.

http://www.homeschoolbuyersco-op.org/home-school-curriculum/ This place is money saver for the must have items. One of my must have is Brainpop Jr, and I got a great deal through this co-op. You just have to wait for it to come available as group buy. From my understanding most popular items become available at least twice a year, so keep an eye on their site.

Also watch www.groupon.com too. Little Pim and other great sets come available on this site too.