When did your babies learn numerals and quantities?

I would like to ask you how long did it take you to teach your babies numerals and quantities… I’ve been working with LM and playing games with my twins for 4 months now. They are 16 months old by now. The girl recognizes numerals up to four and can (sometimes) also recognize quantities… 1 and 2 for sure, 3 and 4 I’m not sure if she really knows or it is just a coincidence (the boy speaks much less than her, so I have no idea about what he is learning). But they seem to progress more on reading, so I was wondering if I should be doing something else…
Any advice will be welcome, thanks a lot!

I wouldn’t worry too much - I used Doman dots and LM and my son never really showed that it taught him anything other than an interest in numbers. :slight_smile: Keep going and maybe one day they will amaze you :smiley:

I would say your goal at this age is to make maths as fun as possible and not worry about what they do or don’t show that they know. Practice putting the correct quantity of cars/dolls/cheerios/whatever under the correct numeral, and counting by touching objects (ie. not just saying the number, but recognising that it means something). These are very important skills to work on.

I have one of those foam floor mats with the numbers 0-20 which is great fun - we can put it out like a number line and jump up and down, or set it out as a mat and ‘find’ the correct number to stand on - endless numeral-learning games :slight_smile:

You are right Mummyroo, sometimes I forget about just teaching and not focusing on output… :blush: