Weaning co-sleeping, any tips?

I have been co-sleeping with my son since he was around 5 months old. We have been sleeping on a mattress in his bedroom while husband sleeps in our bedroom. I co-sleep with my son because he wakes several times at night. I was hoping that co-sleeping would help him slept better. Boy, was I ever wrong! He still wakes a few times and gets used to having me in his bed and was really upset when he did not see me when he is up. I don’t think hunger is an issue because he eats, and drink before he goes to bed. Plus, I am a full time mom and he has me all day, and night! I used to be worried about his health issues like ear infections and all that but his doctor has told us he is a normal healthy toddler.

He is 2.2 years old now and still wakes at least twice a night. We bought him a nice race car bed which he does love. We encourage him to sleep on his big boy bed. I started off with sleeping with him on his bed, then besides his bed, and gradually move away from his bed. He did well and would go to sleep on his bed. He still woke and looked for me during the night. I was so hopeful and looking forward to a good sleep for both of us. During this last few nights, he just did not want to sleep alone in his bed any more. He wanted me to sleep with him “on his race car bed”. He would cry until I gave up, and ended up sleeping on his bed with him. When I was on his bed, he would immediately settle down to sleep.

I cannot let him cry it out and now looking for ways to get him to sleep alone. Anybody has the same experiences? Any successful tips?

Please share your experiences and I am open for any suggestions.

I need my sleep, and of course my husband is not very happy that we are sleeping in separate bedrooms for over 2 years.

Thanks,

Elle

Elle,