Two Months: HSIYB Stage Two

Baby S is two months old! It’s crazy how big she seems. She can hold her head up and look around, standing or on her stomach. She flirts and smiles and echoes sounds all the time. She is so much fun!

For those who haven’t read How Smart Is Your Baby, Stage 2 is the absolute worst. It’s the reaction to life-threatening situations; you’re supposed to help the baby develop the ability to move away from uncomfortable heat, cold, and pressure, let go of an object that hurts to grab, and scream for help when an alarm sounds. I am not good at doing the stimulations regularly; it’s just too hard.

But Baby S already has a perfect response to heat, cold, and pressure (touching them with a hot washcloth, a piece of ice, and a pinch), so I can stop doing those, and also a perfect “let go” reflex when she’s holding something and I pinch her hand, so I don’t do that unless she’s pulling my hair. But sounding a horn five times a day to try to make her cry, I just don’t do. Maybe once or twice a day. She doesn’t have any reaction.

Vision is the one exception. She’s got black and white checkerboard patterns in her crib, on the crawling track, and a portable one for wherever. She likes looking at things now! She can definitely see my face, and we’ve started simple flashcards. She enjoys that and so do I.

The physical stuff is better too. She still can’t quite crawl on a flat track, but raised just a couple of inches at one end, she does great. She can still support her own weight grabbing my fingers for about 10 seconds. She likes the balance exercises now, and I’ll do them to calm her down.