Trying to teach my 5 month old

Hi

I’m new to this and didn’t even know this was possible to a few days ago.

I started showing my son the words ‘Mummy’ and ‘Daddy’ yesterday and plan to get some flash cards soon.

I am doing the flash method, I have been quickly showing and telling him the words. I would like to know.

How do I know if he’s taking it in?
How many cards should I show him at a time ( he’s 5months old)?
When should I introduce new cards?
Do I still show him the first set of cards when a new set is introduced?

Is there any other way I can teach him other than quickly showing him cards? I know there are a few different methods, which one did you find most succesful?

Thank you in advance

It’s good to start at 5 months, before your baby is too mobile and resent being still for
cards, books etc.
As far as telling whether he knows, he will. In a few months he’ll be pointing to elephants or stars in books after you’ve shown him just a few times… same with words!

But some babies are better than others at letting you know what they know. My daughter has very rarely sight read to me, for example. Sometimes i’ll catch up identifying letters, saying some numbers in french or chinese etc… but if i ask her for something (even to pick between 2 cards) she refuses or always picks the wrong one :blush:

Hi Msrbootle. Congratulations on starting a reading program. It is such a fun and rewarding journey. It is really a good idea to learn as much as you can from others who have gone before you and there are plenty of us here.

I have learned so much on this journey and from others along the way. I would suggest checking out A Guide to Teaching Babies to Read. http://www.intellbaby.com/A_Guide_To_Teaching_Babies_To_Read.html It has tons of information to get you off to a super start. You can download it or get it on a DVD.

Wishing you all the best.