To count or not to count

Hi everyone,

My son and I have been using LR and LM for a few months now. At first he liked them both okay. Now he is really getting into LR and eh for LM :dry: . He still watches it but looks away often and never asks for more. I am not sure if he is absorbing anything from it. So, I am thinking about not showing it to him anymore as I want learning to be fun for him.

I know Doman says that kids his age (16 months) can recognize quantity without counting. Do you all recommend that I start counting with my son to keep up doing something with math or should I just continue to tell him the quantity of things without counting with him? He has never responded correctly when I have asked him to pick out quantities. Could be because he just doesn’t want to as he is that way sometimes!

Thanks so much for your help!

Hi mybabyian! I say do what he will enjoy more. My child doesn’t like to do both (Doman math and counting) but she got to a point that she can recognize quantities. See link below:

http://forum.brillkids.com/teaching-your-child-math/big-surprise!-quantity-recognition!/

While doing Doman math, I also introduced numerals to her and she seemed more interested in it. I personally think it won’t hurt if you introduce counting for him to have a basic grasp of math but it could be counter-productive if you are really focused for him to learn Doman math. If you want a combination of both, you may want to try Jones Genuises as it uses dots on numerals to introduce addition, etc.

Happy teaching!

Thanks SOOO much for your post nadia0801. It was really encouraging. I am really happy with how my son is doing and I know he is absorbing so much but sometimes it is hard to tell what he is learning. He likes to demonstrate things on his own. I know some kids love to show what they know and he is not like that. That is fine I just have to have a little more faith that he is learning.