Teaching my eldest dd to write! and a review of excellence in writing program

Hi everyone,

I had just written a reallly long post about my review of the Primary arts of LAnguage excellence in writing program and I was posting it but I was timed out. GRRRRR

So I have been teaching my child to write with Kumon books and really just plodding along and not really getting any where when I came across this excellence in writing website through the TJed website.

I have been using the excellence in writing program for about 4 months now and I am part 2 of the program which is copy work. The program covers everything form letter formation to composition. It can be used alone orin conjunction with their reading program. The writing program also covers reading comprehension and grammar.

My dd is progressing through the program quite well. It is made to be really flexible so you can taylor the program to your childs’ needs

Here are some photos of my dd’s writing we practice for about 15mins every 2nd day. She is 3 years 9 1/2 months old

Here is another picture

Fantastic job. This is awesome!

Thanks TmT. It is a long process but the program comes with a heap of lectures from the makers and every time I listen to the talks about teaching writing I learn something new.

Yes, you’ve definitely inspired me to take a look at this program because it is clearly doing wonders with your LO. (Along with Mom’s hard work and encouragement of course!). Can you share just a super quick overview of what the program entails in the different parts? I haven’t have a chance to study the link yet, but hearing it in plain English mom-to-mom will help before I do so. :smiley:

I am all ears, too!!!

We have recently started some new programs, and everything is working out great so far, but I keep reading wonderful things about IEW, and, as usual, I over-think and over-analyze these things and want to make sure I am using the best curriculum. :wacko: lol

We are currently using: