swim class for my six month old

This sat. my little one and I are starting out first mommy and me swim class. So i’m excited I hope it goes well. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for things i need to bring to our lesson and how to prevent water from getting in his ears or how to get it out. So I cant wait to hear all of your advice thanks in advance.

Hi, I hope you have an awesome time! My little girl and I have been swimming since she was about 2 months old. (There are pools everywhere, one of the perks of living in Florida!) Anyway I have never had a problem with water getting in her ears, it does get in her ears obviously, but she’s never had an ear infection. I just use a cotton ball and dry where I can reach in her ears when we get out. (Not a Q tip!)
As far as things to bring, I usually just take suit, dry clothes, a towel or 2, and an extra diaper. Depending on where we are though, she usually doens’t wear a diaper, we EC. But in lessons I guess you would have to. I know that most places require that you bring a full outfit that can get wet at some point in lessons, so that they can teach baby what is it like to fall in the water fully clothed, and be able to roll over and get to the side. I also bring a toy or 2 that float, but since it’s lessons you probably wouldn’t need that either. I haven’t been to lessons yet though, so not sure on that!
I can’t wait until we can go to swimming lessons. (One month to go!) We’re planning on doing private lessons, and I have a friend with a baby that is 5 days younger than mine and we’re probably going to go together.
But HAVE FUN! Hope your baby loves it! Let us know how it goes.

I am amazed to hear that there are classes for 6 month old. Where are you guys going? I wouldn’t think the local YMCA would have classes. I think priv lessons would be too expensive. Great for you guys! Hope you enjoy them.