Suzuki voice - any suggestions?

There is a suzuki voice program for kids aged 0-6 years in my area. Its a program where the teacher would sing some songs and give few vocal or breathing exercises. My 1 year old son has thoroughly enjoyed the introductory class.

Now I am in a dilemma if I should continue this program because I read in other forums that starting vocal lessons for kids younger than 12 year old might harm their vocal chords. Do someone have any thoughts about it? Is it really harmful for kids to begin vocal lessons so young.

I have heard that it is ok if you have a trained vocal coach who is knowledgeable in training a child.
The trained coach will also teach techniques to prevent damage to their vocal cords.

Hi There
I am a suzuki voice teacher in Australia and saw your post through google keyword alerts I have set up for suzuzki voice :slight_smile:

I wanted to reply to you because there are a lot of misconceptions about young children starting anything unusual and voice is a good example of this.

The suzuki approach is designed for little people. Typically children are able to start instruments around 3 years, depending on the child and family. The voice program is unique, as you may know, because we are able to start with expectant mothers and their unborn children who can hear from about 18 weeks. Amazing, isn’t it!