Some Great Soroban videos!

Hi Guys,

Merry X-mas (late) and Happy New Years.

I just wanted to give you guys some new videos from a recent trip to Japan.

A bit of background information: I’m a Soroban teacher from NY who used to compete in international tournaments and was at one point ranked #1 in the US for the highschool division. I’m a 4th degree Dan (kinda like a black belt in martial arts) and I’ve been doing soroban since I was about 4.

The videos are on a new website I’m building to help parents teach their own kids Soroban. I’m sure some of you will recognize me from other posts, but I would love to have some feedback on what you’d like to accomplish with Soroban and your child’s math education.

Anyway, enjoy the videos. http://www.learnsoroban.com/

Thanks,
Tom

Congratulations, Tom, on starting your website!
The videos are great!

So great to see how enthusiastic the children are!
That is what I want for my children, to be able to master Soroban while enjoying the process of learning!
My DD is 2 and a half, and is no way ready for Soroban yet.
We just moved from NY. Now we are 3 hour drive from NYC.
Do you think that a child can benefit from Soroban classes held only once a week, or it is daily thing…

Welcome back! :slight_smile:

Thank you for answering my questions on the other threads. And the videos are amazing! I personally wish you would create more videos and a Soroban kit with instructions and a suggested schedule or videos (similar to Doman kits); and even offer classes online via either skype or wiziq. And then give homework for parents to work with their children.

The Table of Contents of the Year 1 book from nutureminds.com curriculum (from Malaysia):

Unit 1: Know your abacus, page 1

Unit 2: Numbers 0 - 10, page 8

Unit 3: Addition with the highest total of 10, page 36

Unit 4: Subtraction within the range of 10, page 56

Unit 5: Numbers up to 20, page 72

Unit 6: Addition with the highest total of 18, page 82