Should i retired ABC flash card

I have been shoulding my son ABC flash cards since he was 3 months old. he is now 13 months old and shows me that he know the letter a and d. should i continue the flash cards?..i am a working mom and getting rid of abc will open room for more math. He watches leap frog letter factory daily. Just need some input

My guess would be yes, retire them. Try many different ways of getting this basic, essential into the brain, and it’ll be more likely to stick. Also see http://www.starfall.com/ and their alphabet section, it’s great (if you haven’t already). Also, if you haven’t already, try a toy or two that reproduces the sound when you press the button. Along those lines, I am very sure the Leapfrog fridge phonics helped my own boy when he was learning his ABCs and in the earliest stages of sounding out words.

I agree with DadDude on mixing things up! We have been using his suggestions of Starfall and the Leapfrog fridge phonics. Also, just try to point out letters that you see on signs or food packages. If you’re doing sign language, you could also show Signing Time’s ABC dvd. I think your son will surprise you with his knowledge pretty soon :).

Thanks for the input… We live by starfall. I have been doing starfall for him ever since have was in the womb…(lol…the stories). We ever did 26 weeks of a letter each week…
We have the fridge phonics that he likes to walk around with pressing the button to play the alphabet song…lol…I think i will retired the cards. We have the Tag JR and the ABC book. Maybe i will make that a part of this reading package we do at night until he proves to me he can read.

Thanks for all of the input…

P.S. last night he was walking around the house trying to say apple. he say ahhhh…pffff…

lol lol

Thanks again

Sounds like you’re on track. My boy didn’t show he knew any of the letters until he was 18 months or so, but shortly after that he could recognize all of them.