Self-taught math . . .

If you’re not intimidated with the idea of your child becoming smarter than you are, I would like to recommend the Saxon math books. http://saxonpublishers.harcourtachieve.com/

Saxon will NOT admit that their books are for self-teaching because they wouldn’t sell a one in the public school systems if teachers were not required. In fact, this has caused a bit of a problem for the Saxon company. BUT there are no better books for your child to learn from. The evidence is all over the Internet, though you have to search for it. It can be found best by searching for Robinson Curriculum which employs Saxon in their home schooling curriculum. And that’s another link you should have too: http://robinsoncurriculum.com/ In fact, this last link is where you’ll get the real truth about the Saxon math. I cannot recommend it too highly. I use it for my boys and honestly, they love it!

Sky~

Just looked at the link and was a little surprised with some of the comments on this site, particularly regarding teaching science and the use of flash cards to teach reading.

Yes…this certainly is an interesting site.

I read something on the teaching of multiculturalism there that ended thus:

“Racism has no place in the education of an upright young Christian—it is a false religion. Teach the truth to your students. Leave lies like “multiculturalism” and other racist activities to the schools of the secular humanist state.”

??

Thanks for the link, Sky!

Looks like it’s for primary grade and up, and not for the early years?

In any case, how is the Saxon method special?

Hi KL,