Reading new words at 14 mo???

I wanted to share with you what happened this morning with my 14 mo little girl. I have been teaching her and her twin brother for two months. We use Little Reader for English and my own Doman cards and powerpoints for Spanish. They can read “mamá”, “papá”, “caca” and other words that I’ve shown them, and they usually choose the correct one between two options if I ask them to. But this morning my father told me, “have you taught L. how to read this?” (it was a toothpaste box). Of course not, nobody has! Well, she said “iaca” (it said (binaca)). I asked her to read it for me and she said again “iaca”. Of course it could be a coincidence, but what a coincidence!!!
I don’t know if she’s reading by herself or not… anyway, this is really exciting!! :yes:

Starting to intuit phonics at such a young age is amazing! you must be doing a wonderful job!

Keep up the good work!

That is so exciting, Im so excited for you and yes to be doing that at 14months is really really good I think.
At 16 or 17 months my daughter read “nutmeg” out loud after the packet fell to the floor, I asked her to say it again and she said it twice. I was amazed as it was a word I had never shown her before, she has done it since to a few other words since. Its exciting to know it all going in and clicking!!
Keep up the good work, babies can do anything!!

COngratulations! I had a similar experience with my 13-month old who has been sight-reading since his 10th month… He loves my mole on my shoulder and can say it well. I wrote the word “mole” and let him read. It’s his first time to see the word but he said it clearly “mole”. Babies are really so amazing!

So Exciting!! :yes:

They really are capable of so much, and I STILL find myself underestimating mine after nearly three years!