Reading Effectively & Critical Thinking

I remember long ago, when I was a reading tutor, I would ask before/during/after questions with my students and couldn’t find them in my garage to use with Ethan. So I’m sharing the information I’ve gathered from online resources. I write these questions on a notecard, sticky pad or homemade bookmark to ask while reading to or with my son. I don’t ask him all of them and some I have to modify because of his young age. :happy:

Discussion and critical thinking questioning strategy lead to deeper analysis of content. This makes the learning process more about absorbing and reflecting on all facets of the material in a natural and curious state. Here are a few examples of questions that invoke informal reasoning: “Why did you select that one?” “How are these different?” “What happened when you?” “What would happen if you?” “What can you do to make… happen?” “How do you think s/he feels about what happened?” These types of questions develop critical thinking skills and stimulate verbal development as the children try to communicate their reasoning.

When reading aloud, you can stop from time to time and orally complete sentences like these:
•So far, I’ve learned…
•This made me think of…
•That didn’t make sense.
•I think ___ will happen next.
•I reread that part because…
•I was confused by…
•I think the most important part was…
•That is interesting because…
•I wonder why…
•I just thought of…

To help readers learn to ask questions before, during, and after reading, think aloud the next time you are reading a book, article, or set of directions. Write each question on a post-it note and stick it on the text you have the question about.

Ask questions such as:

“What clues does the title give me about the story?”
“Is this a real or imaginary story?”
“Why am I reading this?”
“What do I already know about___?”
“What predictions can I make?”

Start reading the text, and ask yourself questions while reading: