Princeton mom with Trilingual Holistic Preschool/Daycare

Hi Brillkids families and educators!

My name is Ariadna, and I’m a mom to a mischievous and delightful 12 month old boy named Gabriel. I am a native Spanish speaker (mom is Mexican), and I grew up in Florida. I graduated from Princeton University undergrad (Go Tigers!) as a cultural anthropology major and Fordham Grad School of Education (Childhood Education). I taught bilingual early childhood students in New York City as a Teach for America Corps member, and went on to privately tutor students throughout the city. After getting married, my DH and I moved out to Utah, where I directed a series of tutoring centers K-8 and taught PreK and Kindergarten in one of our centers. After having my little guy, I opened HipKids Holistic Preschool and Daycare from my home.

After spending several years in public and private education, I wanted to design a program that I felt incorporated methodologies I really support. I enjoy the books and programs designed by Glenn Doman (Gentle Revolution), Robert Titzer, Rudolf Steiner, Teaching Tolerance, and Seigfried Englemann, to name a few. I’ve tried to create a program that incorporates their methods. I also teach Spanish and American Sign Language to my students by incorporating those languages in our routines and using a hodepodge of books, letter activities, songs, and poems that I grew up with, along with Signing Time and Baby Signing Time DVDs. I’m hoping to transition to an immersion environment, where my kids and I can exclusively communicate in ASL/Spanish at certain points of the day. The ages I teach are 11 months- nearly 4 years.