Our Little Musician Review With Kids 6 - 17 Years Old

My 6 children and I have been using the Little Musician software for a few months now. We absolutely love it. It is so fun and we have all learned so much. The review is pretty thorough because we had so much to say about it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhUdrPsFoA0&feature=youtu.be

Great review! :biggrin:

What a wonderful review. I agree with all of it :slight_smile:
It would be great if that diaper baby could be substituted with a cool clapping cat or something for the older kids.
Interestingly although all my kids enjoy the clap along they all say it is the least useful part of the program. I think they have some good “natural” rhythm and they just don’t see the point to it. Perhaps if it was challenging them they would understand it.
I am amazed that your girls who play guitar so well with chords don’t nail all those guessing games! I had assumed they learnt guitar by ear, since they play so well together and they don’t read music. In saying that I don’t get them all right either! lol

I didn’t get them all right the first week or so but I do now. I credit my 4 semesters of aural skills as a music major. It’s tricky stuff. I hope that makes you all feel good. :slight_smile:

I love your review, Krista! I wish my oldest (5) would get into LM as much as your older kids do. It looks like it’s a fun family activity and I loved watching them.

Solfege isn’t necessarily ear training because you can do ear training without it. Technically it’s the name for the “Do, Re, Mi, Fa, So, La, Ti” scale. Especially where letter names are used, the usual context for using solfege is in ear training classes. But you could do ear training with letter names and not use solfege. Likewise you can use solfege without specifically doing ear training. There is also rhythm solfege, such as calling a quarter note “ta” and eighth notes “ti-ti”, and then counting out a rhythm with it, like “ta, ta, ti-ti, ta”.