only starting out

hi i am only starting out using sign language my little girl is 20 mths and still not talking we just found out that she has a slight hearing loss in her ears we are waiting to get her wee hearing aids. she can hear but its does affect her slightly i am living in ireland and i am just wondering which sign language would suit her best.

any advice would be great

HI pat26 and welcome!

Hope I’m not overstepping the mark here but thought I would throw in my two cents worth as an audiologist. I am in Australia so I am not sure how much access to early intervention programs you have in Ireland but I would highly recommend them for your daughter. However this depends on whether your ultimate goal is for her to communicate through an auditory/oral modality or visual only (ie; lip-reading and sign language).

My personal opinion is that auditory/verbal is the way to go because in the long run your daughter will probably wish to integrate fully into your community which unfortunately is unlikely to have many people who know sign language. I would definitely use some basic signs though as they can provide a useful bridge of communication between your family and daughter while she is learning to communicate orally and auditorally. This will hopefully alleviate some of the frustration both you and your daughter are propbably experiencing in trying to communicate currently.