New Gal!

Hi! My name is Meg, and I am new to Brillkids… I actually came across it by total accident, so that was pretty serendipitous, I hope! My son is 2 1/2, almost, and he can read all of his letters (uppercase… working on lowercase), and recognize Numbers 1-9, I haven’t really tested him on anything higher, so I’m not sure, on top of 13 colors (basics), and like 8 shapes? So I think thus far, we are doing fairly well, definitely ahead of the curve among our friends, but I don’t really care about that, I just want to do what I can to further his abilities… because he LOVES learning.

I really have no clue where to start! We tried YBCR when he was really little (5 - 7 mos), and he was doing quite well, but then there were some things that turned our household upside down… ya know, life happened, so we stopped. We are recently started back up… but he’s not interested. It was somewhat heart-wrenching, but I realized what the biggest problem was: he’s a TODDLER!!! LoL! He got used to things having more “action” and much more fast paced. He doesn’t watch a lot of TV, but when we do, it’s Thomas the Tank Engine, SuperWhy, Dinosaur Train, Word World, and that’s about it. YBCR is just NOT as interesting for someone that is at a “GO GO GO!” phase, and is much more into imaginary play… ALL DAY LONG… (makes for a VERY long day for Mommy, and Mommy’s back & knees)!

That was long winded, but in case you skimmed: 2 1/2 yr old boy, has an uncanny knack for absorbing information the first time & retaining it, but finds Your Baby Can Read agonizingly slow… very into more fast paced & able to evolve into “creative play”… any ideas?

Thanks so much everyone!
-Meg (26) & Dexter (2.5)!

Hello Meg & Welcome!

First things first, click on the BrillBaby Tab above and download the free e-books about teaching your child to read.