New at teaching to read!

Hi all,

Im new at teaching my child to read…i have been reading books to her from birth but didnt know that they could actually read so young. I was just wondering how long it takes to actually see any results? And how do u know if u are doing it right? I sit my daughter in her high chair in front of the lap top 3 times a day and show her flashcard slideshows and she seems interested. She gets very excited when i turn the computer on :P. Also does anyone have any idea if flicking through flashcards very fast actually works? I am very interested in other peoples stories.