Need ideas on how to stop my 2 year old son from breast feeding

My son wil turn 2 years this month, and i am planning to stop breast feeding when he is 2. since its my 1st child, i need ideas from those experienced moms out there… my son is VERY attached to breast feeding… he does takes him meals well but he needs my milk very often… he cant sleep without having my milk. and during the night i have to always have be feeding him… so please mothers, give me ideas on how to stop it.
thank you

I can’t give you advice on getting him to stop other then having your husband help you with it. He is less likely to take a cup or bottle from you because he knows what he wants from you. But from a dental stand point breastfeeding a child of that age at night is the number one cause of dental caries in children. Unless there is a health issue feeding them anything other then water at night is a habit or a comfort thing, not a need for life. I work as a pediatric dental assistant. I’m not trying to be mean I’m just trying to give you the facts because alot of people don’t think breastmilk can cause cavities but it contains natural sugars. Good Luck during this, I know its hard but if you can atleast eliminate the night feeds your childs teeth will thank-you :slight_smile:

thank you waterdreamer

i actualy have read abt wat u said abt feeding at night causing teeth problems…but my son wil cry the night out if i dont feed him, and the 3 of us will have to stay awake…and i cant fing any other way to calm him down. he doesnt feed on bottles either … but thanx for the advice :slight_smile: