NEED HELP:not intresting in reading

Dear All,
I am worried about my kid who is now 13 months old…he does not intrested in reading at all.When i show him flashcards,he does not want to look at them.I have been showing him Little reader files twice a day since two months .He likes it.he is more intrested in Animals,animals sound.After 2 months i can see the progress in terms of recognising thing by pointing out, when we ask where is something like that …as he doesnt speak now.he makes the sounds of animals.
When I tested him with words that he likes…but didnt get any respose from him…he was not able to read or showed any sign
I think he is more intrested in sound than words.

Thank you

I think your child is doing fine. you shouldn’t be worried at all. I think he can read the words. He is just not ready to show you.

i wish that i could find where i read this (maybe Right Brain program info) but there are two children and one pays full attention and the other doesn’t but the one who doesn’t in the end can still recall what the flash cards were. so much of what we learn is through our subconscious that he probably is taking in more than he is letting on. i agree that you are probably doing just fine and pretty soon he’s going to show you… especially if he isn’t in a place verbally to tell you.

The most important thing is that he is enjoying the lessons. It sounds like he is at least enjoying the animal sounds, and that’s a great thing.

Focus NOT on results (which is the biggest killer of joyousness), but on the bonding time shared between you and your child. Detach yourself from having to achieve results and I’m sure both you and your child will be much better off for it.

Also remember that whether or not he likes seeing the words or not, he is still getting some exposure to them, which is much better than nothing.

Hi babysweet…