Mother of Multiples who were Preemies

Hi
I am new to BrillBaby and I was recommended to post a question here at the coffee corner. I am a mother of 5 month old boy/girl twins who were born at 33 weeks, both weighed 3lbs 6oz. I am always adventuring new ways to keep my preemies stimulated so that they wont be developmentally behind. I wanted to know if there are any other mothers of multiples utilizing this program? If so, what is your routine and is it helpful need?

Hi two of a kind

No need to feel overwhelmed - just start by doing a little bit and build up slowly. Your babies are very young and you have plenty of time!

About a month ago, we were having a similar conversation about teaching preemies, which you can read here.

The consensus was that there is no need to wait longer than normal to start teaching just because your babies are preemies. So you can go ahead and start using Little Reader, if you haven’t already.

In terms of a routine, there are no set rules. To get an overview of what’s out there in terms of teaching reading, check out the Reading Flash Card Method and Multisensory Method articles on BrillBaby.

Personally, I find the Glenn Doman way of retiring a card every day a bit high maintenance. I also use Your Baby Can Read DVDs with my DD, and based on that rationale (you play one DVD for 1-2 months), I am showing the same LR lesson - but on shuffle (very important!) - for a month, then starting a new one, but showing the old one(s) from time to time. Each of my LR lessons has around 100 words, but there’s no rule - you can see what works (i.e. how long your twins stay interested). A good length of lesson when starting out is 10 minutes, and you can increase the length as your twins get into it. Short and frequent is best, so aim to show them their lessons 2-3 times per day.