Looking for Advice: if your child can say the word in one language only

Hi Parents,

I am trying to teach my baby two native language (Dutch and Spanish) and English will be her third language.

I was wondering if you could provide me any advice.

My baby understands everything in both language but she has started to speak some words in Dutch (not my language) and when I am talking with her, she understands when I say a word

Per example:
I say: Do you want apple? (in spanish)
she answers: yes, apple (in dutch)

Do I have to correct her or repeat the word in Spanish or in Dutch? I want that she learns spanish but I don’t want to “hurt” her dutch.

So, What do you do in these cases?

Thanks a lot in advance for your response,

Kind regards,
Gilma

Let me just say that I am not a professional, so this is just my opinion.

I would imagine that since she is understanding the language (Spanish), there is no cause for alarm. It may be that she just doesn’t want to speak Spanish, yet. Some kids just want to do things their way ( I have one of those!).

I wouldn’t correct her, but maybe up the exposure to Spanish a little bit to make it more accessible. Are you teaching her to read? Maybe up the ante in Spanish to encourage her to speak.

Of course, it may just be that you have to wait until she is older to try and emphasize using one language at a time. I think you are okay, especially since she is not combining the languages when she speaks. That shows that she knows they are not the same language.

She may very well think in Dutch, and thereby it is her “official” first language by choice. Then her words would come out as she thinks them and in the language that she thinks with. If it is an immediate response due to her mental processing, you may not be able to do anything about it even if you tried.

I say be happy with her success. What you have accomplished so far is no less than amazing! Congrats to you!