Kramarik family

Just when I think I’m beginning to grasp that many if not most gifted children are gifted because of the attention their parents give them and the tools they use to do it, I start looking again into the life of Akiane Kramarik. http://www.akiane.com/home

She is a self-taught painter with a rare gift. I looked at her and thought, “Okay, so some kids really are gifted.” That’s still my reaction to her.

But then again, all of her siblings are gifted or prodigious. Her brother Ilia is considered by some to be the youngest philosopher in the world, yet he cannot read or write yet. http://iliapoetry.com/. When there are two prodigies in one family, I have to wonder what their parents did. In Arkiane’s case, they recognized that she had a gift for art, encouraged her, and provided her with the right materials. On Ilia’s website, it says, “Another possible factor cultivating Ilia’s gifts was a naturally stimulating environment where most of his ideas were unconditionally encouraged and accepted.” I couldn’t help but notice on Arkiane’s page that there is a picture of a brachiation ladder in their home, although Doman is never mentioned on either of their sites so far as I have seen. In one of the videos they say that there weren’t a lot of books in their home, suggesting that the images she painted really were from her dreams/visions. She wasn’t an early reader, but she was certainly an early learner.

What do you think? Gifted or cultivated? I think there is a healthy combination of both in this case. Either way, they are an inspiring family.