Is Language Arts necessary if your child is a proficient reader by 5?

do you think that ‘language arts’ as taught in elementary school is still a necessary subject? my guess is no - that with so much exposure, the brain is automatically decoding the spelling and the grammar rules. i’m imagining that lessons for spelling or for explaining things like f turns to v and you add es to make leaf and the like plural isn’t necessary. i have no experience in this yet, as we’re still getting through basic books, phonics and site words. so, what are your thoughts? my ideal answer is NO so that this time could instead be dedicated to something more ‘enriching’. if it is necessary, would you say that it’s not necessary for it to take up as much time as in a typical school?

any and all constructive thoughts are welcome, but i’m especially interested in reading replies from those whose children started reading very early and are reading past a 5th gr level by 5. is that a realistic expectation if they start by two and are consistent in their practice?

NO! Reading to and with a child, with vocal emphasis, tone, pacing, etc… and talking about what you’ve read/are reading is going to make your kid just as grammatically capable. You can even stumble and say aloud, "Oh, since there’s a comma that should’ve been; “…” and re-read the passage with better tone and inflection.

You can play different games verbally also to teach irregular verbs. I read about a cool one just today. I’ll try and find it…
From a homeschooling forum:

{}I have a kid like that too. Here is what I have done. It is an oral game we used to play in the car, while driving. She was younger, so the concept was more basic. You could adapt it to past participles, as I will probably need to do for her sooner or later.

Game: I Already Did That
Mom: I am going to the store
Dd: I already went to the store
Mom: Okay then, I’ll swim at the pool
Dd: I swam at the pool yesterday