Independent reading at 19 months-Eaton

Few days ago Eaton grabbed a book I created for him when he was born. This book is about our garden. When Eaton was reading he missed few pages with sentences but this is the idea what Eaton is doing at this point in his live. Just want to share. :slight_smile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBRE0ZBs7TY

This is SO CUTE!! I love that you have him nakey! I have a 21 month old and he runs around nakey most of the time. I’ve been flashing cards for my son since he was 9 months but he’s not at this level yet. Please tell me, when did you start making books for him? How many books have you made for him? This is very encouraging for me. Thank you for posting this!

By the way someone just pointed to me that there is a mistake in a tomato word! I’m still learning my spelling (English is my second language;-)

tammtamm21,

My baby is naked most of the time because we live in Hawaii and it’s hot in the house. Beside that, we potty train him and he doesn’t like wearing diapers anymore :slight_smile:

I started to create books when Eaton was about 10-11 months. At the beginning I created A4 books, about 10 of them. After that I switched to 5"x 7". The reason is that I use a laminating machine and they have only these 2 sizes of laminating pouches in Hawaii. I switched to smaller sizes about few months after introducing A4 books because Eaton was reading smaller font already. But, like you see he still loves these big books.

If you want to create more books and you don’t know where to start you can download a lot of ppt.format Power Point) presentations and edit it to Doman format. Meaning one sentence on one page and pictures on the other. BrillKids has a lot of ppt and you can have bunch of books with different topics. Or you can Google “free kids power point presentations” to find more.

But babies likes personalized books about stuff they see around the house.

I hope that help.
:slight_smile: