how to develop intrest in colouring and writing?

hi

I am a mom of 29 month old boy. Can anyone give any idea on how to make my child interest to coloring and writing? My boy doesn’t have so much interest in this area. I am kind of worried about this. or is it too early to be worried?

please help… : :rolleyes:

My oldest was this way. I found if I sat with him and drew fun silly pictures at the same time as him he became more interested in the process.

try to draw things that interest your child.
I started drawing fish, duck etc which my child likes.
I show her how to trace my hand, now she is doing it herself by tracing her own.

hi fazy,
my son(3yrs) initially had no interest in writing or colouring. when ever i gave him crayons or colour pencils he was bored very fast. I then tried different methods like spray painting, finger painting etc. here are some ideas that i followed.

Teach your child finger painting. Just dip your childs finger in colours and make him do impressions on a papper. you could teach him to make a peacock or a flower using his finger.
Vegetable painting - just chop an okra and dip it into some paint and make impressions on a paper. This would look like a flower.
Also you can try spray painting using a tooth brush.

Trying different methods would help bring more interest in writing and colouring. my son has now started using crayon and he can also write few alphabets like A L O.

Have you read the book Young At Art? It is a wonderful book that encourages parents to start their children with art early. The way she suggests you do this is to designate an area in your home for art. Keep the supplies out or where you child can see them and use them whenever they want. I agree with the other suggestions, do it together, it will be much more fun.

Thanks a lot Nirupa, i will try those methods. those ideas are great.

Krista G, thanks for sharing this information about this great book. Now i am reading it and its relay wonderful.

hi moms,