how long did it take for your baby to read?

Quick question, I have an 8 month old, I have been doing the doman method supplementing with LR since 3 months old…at what age should he be recognizing these words? How long did it take for your babies to show you they know the words?

i start to give my baby to watch YBCR since she wa 7 months, but she just show us when she saw the word “clap” and “head” she will clap her hand and touch her head.(she is 14 months now). But i think every baby is difference. They just keep learning and one day they will show you in surprise… :happy:

My son was about 15 months old when he started reading out words I would show him. We had done doman intermittently since about 3 months. However at 2.5 he still does not read independently. He reads books but I think he mainly just has the stories memorized. He knows all his letters and sounds though and can fill in the missing letter in a word a blank with so I think for him independent reading is not far off. But, we don’t do doman very strictly, only 5 words once or twice a day, 10 categories of encyclopedic knowledge once or twice a day and one set of dots once or twice a day. I think with more rigid adherence to the program better results can be obtained. When I rigidly adhere to the program for a bit I notice my son can identify many more words.

I never tested my son before. My mom just accidentally heard him reading the words I wrote on the flashcards. That is when we knew that he can already recognize some words. That was just a month after I teach him to read.

I did not follow any rules or program before. When he is looking on pictures in a book, I will say what he is looking at and I will write the word and show it to him. Sometimes for ex., I will draw a kite and I will write the word ’ kite’ beside.
I don’t know either how many times I already showed a particular word.
And it’s amazing that he learns.