How important is it to you to teach nursery rhymes?

What is your thought on teaching or not teaching nursery rhymes? It was brought to my attention about not teaching nursery rhymes requested by a family. What do you think about teaching nursery rhymes. Do you oppose or approve?

I’ve never tried to teach them.

Several of my friends who are speech pathologists have stressed over and over to me how important rhyming is for young children. It’s supposed to play a big role in phonemic awareness and learning to read. I think it’s also supposed to just be fun. Here’s a short article I just googled about ryhme - http://www.buzzle.com/articles/learning-read-rhyme-important.html .

Hi Mother of Faith,

Are you asking about rhyming or TRADITIONAL nursery rhymes? As a kindergarten teacher I NEVER taught the traditional nursery rhymes - mainly because I thought that they were the rhymes that mom and dad knew and that they could do at home, also because I, personally, find them boring. I always did ALOT with rhyming though. ALOT. As TheyCan stated, rhyming is very, very important so whatever you can do with rhymes is great.

That said, I came home from the library with a Mother Goose book the other day and my 21 month old can’t get enough of it! So, I’m reading Humpty Dumpty, Sing a song of Sixpence, and Hey Diddle Diddle four to five times a day! (Why do kids gravitate to things you don’t like???)

Kizudo

I think it’s helpful to teach/sing nursery rhymes with children because it helps them understand rhyming and used properly, can also extend their vocabulary. I also introduced my daughter to certain famous poems from an early age like Macavity by TS Elliot, The Tiger by William Blake, The Friendly Cow by RLS and Shakespeare etc.