How I taught my toddler to read

I have a daughter (now 34 months) who can decode just about anything. I’d like to share my story in order to help others who are interested in teaching their young child to read.

First a little about me. I’m a former 2nd grade teacher who now teaches ESL part-time to international college students. I have Masters in Education, and a Masters in Teaching English as a second language. My husband is a professor of applied linguistics.

When my daugher was 14 months old, one of my husband’s students gave him some pirated DVDs from the “Your Baby Can Read” series. And I thought “what a load of crap”! I hadn’t let my daughter watch any videos/TV during her first year and was/am not a fan of baby Einstein… but YBCR seemed kinda cute, and she seemed to like it, so I let her watch it 3 or 4 times a week. After one month, I bought some “sliding word cards” from the site above, and tested her to see if she’d actually “learned” anything. At that point, she could only recognize that “hi” was “hi”, but more importantly she seemed to understand the concept that the printed word corresponded to a spoken word. It was enough to convince me that there was some merit in Titzer’s theory…