Homeschoolers, is 'The Well-Trained Mind' book the best homeschool curriculum?

Dear all,

I am very new to homeschooling and have been wondering about the best homeschooling curriculum. What I need is something that equates a bit of what the public school system does plus some more.

Is ‘The Well Trained Mind’ the best curriculum for homeschooling? (I have read the rave reviews on Amazon.com). Are there any other better resources? What curriculum did you find most effective?

Suggestions from experienced homeschooling parents are very highly welcome. Thank you so much.

I don’t think it is possible to say there is one best curriculum as a lot will depend on your child and your families cicumstances. I do think it is an excellent book, both inspiring and with lots of great information. Most people I believe probably do best with a combination of curriculums pulling the best/what works for them from each one. For instance for my son (age 5) we use:

Reading: Robinson curriculum, Sonlight, Old fashioned Education, Ambleside Online, Great books
Math: Jones geniuses, worksheet genius.com
Language Arts: Writing with Ease, Spelling Workout C, First Language Lessons for the Well trained Mind, Daily Language Lessons
We are also doing the Memory work from Classical Conversations on our own which includes: history, geography, math, grammar, latin and Science facts

I agree with what linzy said: There is no best curriculum - it very much depends both on your child and on you. I think that book is a good book to buy and read, but there are endless other resources each with their own pros and cons. Most people I think use an eclectic curriculum - it basically means that they pull things from everywhere - especially if you have a bright child or are doing early education then very often your child will be ahead in one or other areas and a full curriculum will not work for them.

For my DD (age 4) we are using: