Home Schooling? A guide for the New? NEED YOUR ADVICES!!!! :D

Hey All!!
I wanted to take this chance and pick you homeschooling parents minds! I have been dabbling in EL and this website for almost a year now. My son is now almost one and I am excited to see his learning progress. Coming from a educationally poor and pitiful city, where even though I graduated top in my class, I feel like I was robbed… I want soo much more for my son, and feel homeschool maybe my best option to accelerate my little guys education and passion to learn!

IM LOST!!
What is Saxon? Who is Mason? Ive seen many names, and materials out over the boards but where do I begin in starting to educate myself, and organizing a route to take with my son? To a homeschool noob its overwhelming and overflowing and quite amazing. You all started on this path…what advice, materials, research, investments, plans, ect ect worked best for your family? What advice would you give to someone just starting out? If you could start a fresh knowing what you do know now where would you begin?

Im your sincere sponge and look forward to links, download and a massive amount of advice I can dive into!!! Im sure to this will help other parents who are really deciding where and how to take this leap??

I once asked a question about homeschool curriculum and got wonderful answers from veteran homeschoolers on the forum. Here is the thread - http://forum.brillkids.com/homeschooling/homeschoolers-is-‘the-well-trained-mind’-the-best-homeschool-curriculum/15/
On the above thread, sonya_post mentioned Charlotte Mason and described her philosophy. There is also a link on the thread to check out Charlotte Mason original writings FREE on Ambleside.

Here is another great thread on homeschooling curriculum - http://forum.brillkids.com/homeschooling/which-homeschooling-method-are-you-thinking-of-or-are-currently-using/.