help! my son fails to recognize words

hi there,
i have been showing my child words since last 6 months. i show him the flash cards & also LR but whenever i ask him to tell the word (by showing him) he generally tells some other word.
he love to see the words along with the pictures. he recognizes a lot of pictures & tell the right name for them but when it comes to words its all messed up.
i sometimes get very upset & don’t know what to do :closedeyes:
please help!!

We are not supposed to test our children. A lot of children do not like to be tested, and they will respond with the wrong answer, even if they know the right one. I suggest that you continue what you are doing without any stress or testing. Some children need more time than others. Your child is only 2 and you have only been doing a program for 6 months.

If you are getting upset or stressed when your child does not recognize a word, then you could be part of the problem. You need to be joyful and have fun no matter what. If you are not, then your child will pick up on it and think that learning is a time for stress or for mommy/daddy to get angry. I would not want to learn in that atmosphere, would you?

thanks nhockaday,
I’ll be patient with him & change my pattern of showing him words so that it is more enjoyable for both of us.

Yes Piyu don’t try testing the baby. Sometimes I will try to make it like a game to ask him to pick the pic of which I named to me and I will say " hey gal, mama wants “apple” please pick apple to ma ma" then usually she will pick the right one to me.

yes, there is something strange about the testing. When I ask my doughter to name a colour, she usually says wrong. When she is playing with herself, she says the right words of colours.

Plyu, You’re not alone in wondering if the work and effort is paying off. Sometimes I get discouraged with my program when I don’t see my son interested or the evidence that he’s learning the material.