Hello from the UK!

Hi,

Can I just say what a great site this is…I stumbled across it while looking for ideas and inspiration for teaching my baby son. I’m a high school teacher here in the UK and am used to working with hormonal teenagers but teaching the younger ones seems much harder!

My wife is a Child Psychologist and she would certainly agree that most of the criticisms you’ve addressed on your site are nonsense. My problem is knowing what to teach my boy. I’d love him to have another language, for example. I can speak Portuguese but I’m unsure of how I should deliver this and so on.

I think this site focuses on reading and maths…but I’d like a wider range of activities to expose my son to in a structured way. Being a teacher myself means I get a fair amount of time off during the year and I’d like to make the most of that. I was thinking of things like nature walks and pointing out different animals/plants…painting and drawing…etc etc. Obviously, good parents will do that sort of stuff all the time (and we do, when it’s not sub zero outside!) but I almost feel that I need the security of a set curriculum…sounds crazy saying that for a 5 month old!!!

Anyway, keep up the excellent work and I look forward to my membership here.

Hello and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:
You may notice while searching the forum that parents, including me, are mostly being inspired by Glenn Doman - he has several books which could help you decide when and how to start with languages, encyclopedy knowledge, math,music… you can see many videos on youtube :slight_smile:

and right brain education - http://www.rightbrainkids.com/

happy teaching :yes:

Ok great, thanks for the pointer! Loads of really useful and interesting stuff on here :slight_smile:

Hello and Welcome! As you develop your own early learning philosophy, you will find that teachable moments are around every corner! We’re glad you joined us!