Hello from Australia WA

Hiya everyone!! I am soooo looking forward to some like minded people and not people that think I am doing my kids a disservice by encouraging their love for learning!!

So so sick of hearing “let them be kids”

well hello - I am!!

anyway before I start a rant I should properly introduce myself

I am an early shildhood teacher who stumbled upon the YBCR dvds when my firstborn was about 12 months old. WOW - what a completely different approach to teaching than what I spent 4 yrs learning at university LOL!!

my husband wasnt convinced but we both gave it a go and by 2 yrs of age my son was reading phonetically

fast forward a few years I now have my son just turned 4 who has the reading age of an 8-9 yrold
a daughter who just turned 3 and has the reading age of an 8 yr old (we combined YBCR with the doman reading system and the native baby reading philosphy)
a 6 month old who has a brother and a sister shoving words/books in her face all day so will be reading before long just to get them to leave her alon LOL!!

My 2 older kids are also quite proficient at sign language and we have just started teaching them german and they are soaking it up like sponges!!!

so anyway I am so keento talk to soem like minded people because Iam really struggling to not be looked at like a freak…

cant wait to meet and chat withyou all and look forward to reading your stories!!

Welcome to the forum!

Hi Mummamia,