HELLO FROM A TURKISH MOTHER

Hi everybody,
I am an englishly teacher from Turkey,and really so new to this website.
Although I am an active member of a website in my country, this one is morely related with teaching where the other one is related with parenting.I am sure I will benefit a lot.

I am th mother of two children ,a son 5.5 year old and a daughter 10.5 months old. I was very much interested in teaching little chidren while raising up my son, however was not informed about teching reading or maths,etc. I just read about very basic teaching principles, but have been reading and singing him since the day he was born. We used to play interesting games such as cycling round the house and visiting different cities in our country.Until last year (my secon pregnancy evrything was really good),he was able to name all simple shapes before the age of 2, able to say difficult words when he was 14 months ,able to form sentences before 1.5 years, able to say some poems by heart before 1.5 years,etc…until last year; because I had a difficult pregnancy period ,so he was really very badly affected and he started to have speaking problems…of course we are in contact with the doctor, but my problem is I can hardly ever spend time with him because of the baby, and that means problems will get worse not better…I hope I can get started to teaching to both of them. Sometimes I really feel hopeless…

Neriman,