Gal is not interested in Math

Hi all,
My daughter shows clearly that she is not interested in learning math especially dot math. She seems interested in learning words as some flash cards illustrated with the images hence keep her attention. However for math, everytime i showed her numbers or dots, she turned away. when i studied, i was not good at math. I hope that my gal will like it. Anyone has any idea to keep her interest with math? Thanks alot

My daughter never took to dot cards and we didn’t have LM then (she’s 4 now) so we just played games with counting anything she thought fun and later did basic addition and subtraction, we also took walks pointing out numbers on houses as we passed by for numeral recognition. You can also teach shapes as an early maths concept, have her play with a clock, measure things with her body, fingers, feet etc when she starts walking - all that is also math as are pattern recognition (get her to help sort socks or other laundry, string beads in a pattern of colours and so on), bake with her and let her pour and measure in the bath. If you see math all around you she will too and be more likely to enjoy it.

My son LOVED LM. I wasn’t sure whether to get it, and we watched all through the ten day trial in two days and I gave in :slight_smile:

Then he lost interest a little. Now he doesn’t seem interested at all. I think the problem is that we did the doman method for numbers and touched on equations, and it takes nearly 50 days to get to the equations in LM - at first it was new and interesting, but he knows the numbers and we’ve only done two days of equations.