Extremely Proactive - What to do pre-conception

Hi! I am extremely proactive and maybe even a little bit too proactive. I am not yet pregnant but expect to have a baby 2014-2015. I keep reading that you should start preparing your body for your baby even before conception. I was wondering two things. First, where is the best place to go to get pre-conception information (about how to give your future baby the best start possible)? Second, when should I start gearing up and learning exactly what to do with my child once they are born? I am a busy professional that is also in graduate school at the moment and want to make sure that I start doing what I need to do and learning what I need to know with enough time as I am sure that I won’t have much time once the baby is born. Thanks!

One of the biggest things I’ve heard that they recommend pre-conception is to get into the habit of eating healthy. Do a detox if your body needs one. If you drink alcohol it is good to break the habit before becoming pregnant as it can take awhile to clean it out of your system. The same goes for any other addictive substances you may be/have taken. Make sure there is folic acid in your diet while you are trying to get pregnant as this is most important in the time period before you know you are pregnant. I don’t know much about what to do EL-wise except that the more you know and prepare now, the less you’ll have to do later. You could start collecting materials as it can be quite an investment. Good luck. :slight_smile:

Good on you for taking care of yourself preconception! There are some wonderful resources, I will post back here soon as I don’t have them off the top of my head. Cleansing and detoxing a year ahead is a great idea, best to work with an experienced naturopath in order to do this properly. Then you should make sure your body is extremely well nourished. You want to build it up with nutrients as best as you can.