Do you think it is wrong to focus solely on English even if.....?

I would like to ask if anyone that has been or is in a similar situation, for advice and/or just reassurance. Sorry it’s LONG but it’s a battle i’ve been facing for over 16 months now, I’d like to solve this and clear my mind.

I’m an expatriate living in France on a permanent long-term basis. My mother tongue is English and my partners is French, he is basic in English. It has been agreed upon us both that we will raise our French born daughter to be bilingual. When I look at the amount of time my partner has with our daughter, I can’t see her learning French until she starts going to school and interacting with other kids/staff (something she doesn’t get right now).

I refuse to speak French to my daughter, only for the fact that English in France is taught so poorly in schools, hearing it is rare, especially in my small country town. Brochures, books, websites or anything related to something being needed in English is never followed by correct grammar usage and not to mention the 101 spelling mistakes, so that will never teach her. I used to speak only French with her but when I started forgetting English (it’s possible!) I immediately stopped.

I feel like i’m always being condemned for putting the need to learn English first even though the official language in France is French. The community thinks i’m a typical arrogant foreignor who refuses to integrate with French society (not the case!). I know learning French should be priority as she is in France but I also feel like I have a big responsibility to teach her English as she will only have me to rely on. We can’t afford to send her to a private English school and why should I when I can teach her properly and for free at home and she can learn French for free at school?