Do experts show up here?

Do experts in reading, early childhood education, or other relevant topics ever show up here? I can’t think of one.

I’d like to think that hearing and auditory processing would come under ‘relevent others’ and therefore I am an expert! Haha, not really, but I have the letters after my name to suggest I am! I don’t think we would achieve a lot of what we’re doing with early learning if the child wasn’t hearing or processing properly? Maybe not what you were looking for but it’s the best I have!

Lisa (Audiologist - BSc, GradDipAid(Melb), MClAud(Melb), MAudSA(CCP))

Well, thanks–it’s nice to know. I guess the measure of relevance, anyway, is whether the area of expertise has some bearing on evaluating the feasibility and advisability of teaching babies to read.

Can’t say that I know of anyone in particular. I know that there are plenty of certified teachers here, and some of us were/are early elementary teachers, but I don’t think that there are any certified EARLY Childhood experts.

I doubt it Dad Dude!!

I guess they are tooo busy trying to undermine the work of others rather than working on any real studies in the field of early learning. (Sorry I sound soooo cynical) Hopefully once I get my degree in Early Learning I hope to be able to conduct many clinical studies on the positive effects of early childhood education!

Kimba

What do you mean by an expert?? well I guess I know … but I have a Bach Degree in Early Childhood Education.

not sure if that is an expert or not…

I also have a 3 and a 4 yr old who read at an 8 and 9 yr old level respectively and to achieve this I used NONE of what I learnt in 4 years of uni…!

The criteria of expertise vary from field to field, of course. For academic fields, if you are capable of producing and publishing peer-reviewed research on a subject, you’re often regarded as an expert on that subject.