Baroque music

I read this in a newsletter from
The Whole Child, Issue #071 Don’t skip Music and Art Appreciation‏
“I think it is almost common knowledge these days, that classical music played to babies and toddlers helps to stimulate the development of the brain. Apparently, Baroque music in particular, stimulates the development of nervous connections in the developing brain of young children and it is believed to enhance mathematical and language skills in particular.”
I found that very interesting that it is Baroque music that is best for young minds.
Food for thought
The rest of this newletter can be found on her website
http://www.shirleys-preschool-activities.com/music-appreciation.html

hey kids:
look… being a professional musician, i like baroque music as much as the next guy, but why on earth is it better than beethoven, wagner or berg? it doesn’t make any sense other than the fact that the people who were conducting the study don’t know anything about the repertoire, or are not familiar with other composers… say… wolf (my favorite!).
i think what they like about it is the countrapuntal quality of the music, which is much different than a melody and accompanyment.
so, why not a 20th century fugue, or for that matter, a little Messiaen or Boulez? if that doesn’t connect both hemispheres of the brain i don’t know what would!!
i think i would like to find out the source of the study, how it was conducted, etc. before i ran out and bought the well tempered klavier book 1.

just my 2 cents. take it or leave it :wink:
the doc :clown:

This is why I put this up. To get other peoples point of view. Thanks for sharing.

I am musically ignorant but would like to save my children from the same fate. LOL