Are you teaching perfect pitch?

Just wondering how many parents on the forum is actively teaching their kids perfect pitch apart from learning a musical instrument? So far, I know of the following methods/programs:

1. Music Play using tuning forks from rightbrainkids
  2. “Doman” approach using flashcards while playing notes on an instrument
  3. Eguchi method
  4. We Hear and Play program
  5. The Ear Training Companion Chordhopper game
  6. Tune Toddlers CDs

Are you guys using any of these and how is it working?

WE using Russian based program by Zeleznovi, as well as bits and pieces from different programs :slight_smile: Cant wait for LMs of course, which will bring it all together :yes:

We like the Russian program approach and see that it is really effective. The idea is that simple songs are sang, then sounded out as solfeggio, then played and given an opportunity for a child to incorporate percussion, then simple notes/perfect pitch games played…

I’m not a musician and cannot read or play music. I did, however, get a program at the library about training perfect pitch a few years ago. The reviews on it are either love it or hate it. According to the author, the key to obtaining perfect pitch is to use synesthesia. This means associating one sense with another, and in this case, a particular note with a color, texture, or other modality that is unique to that note. This allows the person to distinguish or produce it at will.

Not sure how you would incorporate this, but thought I’d chime in with the little information I could. Good Luck!!

I am the opposite of a musician and was hoping to find a way to give my son a fighting chance at better pitch, tone, and even appreciation of music. I’ve been anxiously awaiting the Little Musician. I didn’t even know all of these programs existed. Thanks for the info.