Androids vs. Ipad

Hi
I am still undecided as to go for an ipad 2 or for an android tablet.
I mainly want it for E.L of my kids (oldest now 3,5 years) and get excited evey time I see the extensive recommendations for apps here.
Question for those who know more than me:
Are the educational apps for android tablets rapidly increasing?
Have they come to a similar number than the Apple apps or are they still considerably less?
What do you think who will offer the most apps in the foreseeable future (1-2 years): Androids or Apple?

I guess the last question is the “one million dollar question” but I cannot help asking it…

Can those of you who know the market better than I do please give their opinon here?

THANKS! Isa

I am not an expert, but we have iPad 2 and it is totally amazing! :yes:
To my opinion it is worth every penny. You can get 16 GB model or iPad 1 model and be able to enjoy all the thrills for less.
I doubt that Androids will ever offer as much, but once again it is only my opinion.

I consider myself a computer geek. :slight_smile:

Computer geeks tend to gravitate towards Android more so I’m naturally biased in favor of Android. :slight_smile:

I have an Android phone and an iPad2 (started with iPad1).

Right now, the Android tablets are lagging far behind, so usage-wise, I would much rather use an iPad2. The apps are just way more for an iPad than for an Android right now.

What about the future?

It’s anyone’s guess but you can look at what happened with Android phones, which also started out late. Today, even though the iphone still has many more apps than Android phones, there is no real difference in practice because 95% of all the good apps that you would want are already available on android. I love my Android phone and consider it much better than an iPhone, as you have a lot more freedom with it and can do a lot more things. The iPhone however is probably more idiot-proof and easier to use overall though.