Afterschooling!

So DD is now 4 and will start her second year of preschool- in France, children go to La Maternelle for three years ( from three to six ) and then start primary school at six, six and a half.
I still need to work out if CP, the first year of primary school, would be considered Kindergarten or First grade in the US :-))

School is morning only, for 5 hours.
We get home at 1 pm. Usually, lunch time is over by 2 and by that time DD is ready for a well-deserved nap, she usually wakes at 4 or a little earlier.

I am a teacher so I will get to spend probably 3 afternoons with her during the school week.
BUT because we get up quite early, she goes to bed at 7 sharp and we read for half an hour (meaning that we start eating/bath routine at six pm)

That leaves me very little time to teach her during this 2 hour period: she also needs to play outside and I sometimes have my own work to do, if I did not have time to finish while she was sleeping)

I would like to focus on the things she doesn’t do at school. they do a lot of songs and drawing, painting and play outside.
I’ve ordered some books in English (some workbooks, Bob books, Singapore Maths)… it will ‘force’ me to speak to her in English :slight_smile: I’m really keen to get her started on Maths, she doesn’t grasp addition yet, so far we’ve focused on patterns, bigger/smaller, heavier/lighter… Those kind of concepts.

I also odered a booklet (handwriting without tears) to improve her writing but I know she won’t do those much, no more than a word or two.

We have Little reader and Little Musician which we’ll play everynight (max. 10mn)

I’m restricting TV (educational dvds) to the week-end.

Any suggestions? any Mamas in a similar situation? thanks!

What about an educational video game?