A General Pondering...

I love the idea of getting my child started early with his education and this looks like a fantastic website (only signed up today).

I was a high ability student at school who got easily bored and instead resorted to messing about to get attention…I WAS the class clown/idiot. Being a high school teacher myself, I see this happening a lot…having been in their position, I am able to come up with challenging exercises just for them and my classes are never disrupted…but I hear of these kids getting in trouble around the school…once you have a label as a “trouble-maker”, it is hard to shift the idea that that is how you should behave in ALL your lessons.

Are there any concerns that starting kids off so early will put them at SUCH an advantage when they start school at 4 years old that they might actually find it difficult to engage with some of the lesson material?

Phil

Welcome Harty… Phil :slight_smile:
Many of us think about this, I have some personal experience too.
First up I want to clearly state it is always better to find school too easy and be potentially bored than to find it a struggle and deal with all that extra pressure. This is relevant to both the child and the parent! :yes:
Secondly as more and more parents do engage their children in education early, the system itself will change to cater for them, as it should. I commend you for being one of the few teachers who has actively engaged our bright future successes. Thank you!